2023 National Men’s Team – Announcement

Ice Hockey Australia proudly announces the National Men’s Team representing Australia in the IIHF Division II Group A World Championships held in Madrid, Spain, from 16-22 April 2023. 

The team will be led by experienced coaches Matti Luoma (Head Coach), Mark Rummukainen (Asst Coach) and Mick Flaherty (Asst Coach), and supported by Jean Girdler (Team Manager), Darryl Day (Equipment Manager) and Kathy Rogers (Chef de Mission).

The team is made up of players from 8 of 10 Australian Ice Hockey League (AIHL) teams, an indication of the depth and talent that is playing domestically. 

Prior to the World Championships in April, the Mighty Roos will take on the New Zealand Ice Blacks in a three game Trans-Tasman series, 10-12 March in Auckland, to finetune preparations. 

National Men’s Team (World Championships)

Andy Camenzind (CBR Brave)

Mack Caruana (Melbourne Ice)

Wehebe Darge (CBR Brave)

Robert Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)

Ethan Hawes (Oceanside Generals)

John Kennedy Jr (Newcastle Northstars)

Anthony Kimlin (Sydney Bears)

Tyler Kubara (CBR Brave)

Casey Kubara (CBR Brave)

Bayley Kubara (CBR Brave)

Tomas Landa (Sydney Bears)

Lynden Lodge (Perth Thunder)

Bert Malloy (Central Coast Rhinos)

Liam Manwarring (Newcastle Northstars)

Timothy Newmark (Sydney Bears)

Daniel Pataky (Sydney Ice Dogs)

Charles Smart (Newcastle Northstars)

Beau Taylor (Newcastle Northstars)

Cameron Todd (Sydney Ice Dogs)

Vadim Virjassov (Melbourne Mustangs)

Kieren Webster (Perth Thunder)

Jamie Woodman (Perth Thunder)


Shannon McGregor (Sydney Ice Dogs)

David Kudla (Perth Thunder)

Ellesse Carini (Sydney Bears)

Brendan McDowell (Melbourne Mustangs)

Kai Miettinen (CBR Brave)

Strat Allen (Sydney Ice Dogs)


Ellesse Carini (Sydney Bears) *New Zealand Trans-Tasman Series

Jakob Doornbos (Sydney Ice Dogs) *New Zealand Trans-Tasman Series

Shannon McGregor (Sydney Ice Dogs) *New Zealand Trans-Tasman Series