Mighty Roos squad announced for 2016 World Champs


This article proudly brought to you by: Skaters Network

The Australian Mighty Roos squad has been selected for the 2016 IIHF Division 2 Group B World Championships in Mexico City Mexico on April 9-15, 2016.

It’s a team with a lot of experience with four debutants – Richard Tesarik, Matt Stringer, Rob Haselhurst and Mat Lindsay, together with the return of Mark Rummukainen, Michael Schlamp, Sean Jones and Darren Corstens .

Mighty Roos Coach Brad Vigon said “the mix felt right for the campaign as Australia aim to claim gold in Mexico”.

“I think we have a great mix of guys that have had many years in the National team, such as Lliam, Huxley, Rummo as well as a few guys that have had a bit of experience, one or two tournaments and those that are getting their first crack as well,” Vigon said.

“The older guys will be expected to help to mentor our younger guys and really take them under their wing. I know most of the guys pretty well, and have had great feedback about the others and feel that each player will fit into what myself and Matti are trying to do.”

With Mexico City sitting over 2km above sea level, Vigon said the altitude will take some getting used to but the players should be well equipped to deal with it.

“As a group we need to make sure we are in peak condition going into the tournament,” Vigon said. “We will do a lot of work getting the guys comfortable with the systems we will use so that when we get there everyone will already have a pretty good idea of where they need to be in different situations.”

Entering the competition at 36th in the world, Australia will come up against stiff competition including Bulgaria (39th), Israel (33rd), New Zealand (37th), North Korea (42nd) and hosts Mexico (32nd).

Vigon admits there will be some tricky games as Australia hope to gain promotion to Division 2 Group A.

“Mexico will be tough especially at home, and Israel is a bit of a wild card,” Vigon said. “You never really know what to expect from them year to year. New Zealand is always a tough, hard fought game and because of the rivalry it is always close.”

The full Mighty Roos squad for the 2016 Division 2 Group B World Championships is:

Darren Corstens (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Wehebe Darge (Adelaide Adrenaline)
Austin McKenzie (Melbourne Ice)
Lliam Webster (Melbourne Ice)
Mitch Humphries (Melbourne Ice)
Thomas Powell (Melbourne Ice)
Matt Stringer (Melbourne Mustangs)
Sean Jones (Melbourne Mustangs)
Jordan Kyros (Perth Thunder)
Cameron Todd (Sydney Bears)
Michael Schlamp (Sydney Bears)
Richard Tesarik (Sydney Bears)

David Huxley (Adelaide Adrenaline)
James Byers (CBR Brave)
Mark Rummukainen (CBR Brave)
Paul Baranzelli (Melbourne Ice)
Mat Lindsay (Newcastle North Stars)
Robert Malloy (Newcastle North Stars)
Robert Haselhurst (Perth Thunder)

Anthony Kimlin (Whitby Dunlops)
Fraser Carson (Melbourne Mustangs)

Head Coach Brad Vigon
Assistant Coach Matti Luoma
Manager Ian Webster
Chef de Mission Steve Ransome
Team Doctor/Physio Danny George
Equipment Manager Joey Rezek

Article courtesy of: Andrew McMurtry