Australian National Teams

The IHA participates in IIHF World Championships in six categories –

World Senior Men (WM),
World Senior Women (WW),
World Junior Under 20 (WM20),
World Youth Under 18 (WM18),
World Women’s Under 18 (WW18) and
World Inline

Players are selected through observing their skills and performance at national championships,
national leagues plus state and national “try-out” camps.

Interested applicants wishing to be appointed to team official positions are required to submit
their applications to their respective State Association and the IHA office prior to the IHA’s
Annual General Meeting. National Team Officials are appointed for 36 months with the intent of holding their positions for three World Championship trips, subject to review of performance.

Eligibility to represent

Players holding a valid Australian Passport who are Australian by birth, with  no other citizenship plus their parents also are Australian by birth, have participated in IHA national competitions for at least two years.

In all other cases, please refer to the IIHF Bylaw – Rule 406

2018 Tournament Schedule

National Senior Men’s Team

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey Senior Men World Championship Division II Group A 
In Tilburg, Netherlands, 23-29 April 2018 
Participants: Netherlands, Australia, Serbia, Belgium, Iceland, China

National Junior Team

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey U20 World Championship Division III 
In Sofia, Bulgaria, 22-28 January 2018 
Participants: Australia, China, Iceland, New Zealand, Israel, Bulgaria

National Youth Team

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship Division II Group A 
In Tallinn, Estonia, 1-7 April 2018 
Participants: Poland, Estonia, Lithuania, Korea, Great Britain, Australia 

National Women’s Team

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship Division II Group A 
In Maribor, Slovenia, 31 March– 6 April 2018 
Participants: Netherlands, Great Britain, DPR Korea, Slovenia, Australia, Mexico 

National U18 Women’s Team

2018 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 Women’s World Championship Division I Group B 
In Krynica, Poland, 6-12 January 2018 
Participants: France, Denmark, Poland, Great Britain, China, Australia