The IHA participates in IIHF World Championships in six categories –

World Senior Men (WM),
World Senior Women (WW),
World Junior Under 20 (WM20),
World Youth Under 18 (WM18),
World Women’s Under 18 (WW18) and
World Inline

Players are selected through observing their skills and performance at national championships,
national leagues plus state and national “try-out” camps.

Interested applicants wishing to be appointed to team official positions are required to submit
their applications to their respective State Association and the IHA office prior to the IHA’s
Annual General Meeting. National Team Officials are appointed for up to 36 months, subject to review of performance.


There are three major groups of players each with differing requirements of proof for eligibility which must be confirmed by IIHF. In all cases, the player must hold Australian citizenship and an Australian passport.

  • A player with no other citizenships
  • A player has currently or previously, a second citizenship.
  • A player who was born overseas, and has transferred to Australia
  • The requirements for eligibility are documented in IIHF Bylaw 4 (2019 update)

A player who is currently transferred from Australia may still meet the eligibility criteria above 


The dates and host venues for tournaments are proposed to the IIHF Congress meeting in May, and final details are confirmed in the Semi Annual Congress in September.

First Nations flag ATSI flag Pride Flag

Our Commitment

Ice Hockey Australia respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands in which we are on. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

We are committed to a positive future for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and to honor their ongoing cultural and spiritual connections to this country and recognise the role and value of culture.

We are a proudly diverse organisation, who actively celebrates LGBTQIA+ diversity, inclusion, and pride.