Ice Hockey Australia (IHA) is the nation’s governing body for the sport of ice hockey

Established in 1908, and a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation since 1936, IHA is responsible for the promotion and administration of the world’s fastest team sport at every level of participation in Australia — from youngsters stepping onto the ice to compete for the first time, through to senior men and women representing the country in international competition (Able & Para). 

In addition to organising and overseeing the Australian Ice Hockey League (AIHL), Ice Hockey Australia plays a key governance role on behalf of members and member organisations in keeping with its status as an AIS-recognised National Sports Organisation (NSO).

IHA is a public company limited by guarantee and is governed by a constitution in accordance with the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth).  IHA’s Board of Directors are made up of elected and appointed directors, with a maximum term of three (3) years.

First Nations flag ATSI flag Pride Flag

Our Commitment

Ice Hockey Australia respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands in which we are on. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

We are committed to a positive future for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and to honor their ongoing cultural and spiritual connections to this country and recognise the role and value of culture.

We are a proudly diverse organisation, who actively celebrates LGBTQIA+ diversity, inclusion, and pride.