Ice Hockey Australia sanctions three national leagues:

The Australian Women’s Ice Hockey League (AWIHL) is Australia’s top-tier women’s ice hockey league. Established in 2005 as Australia’s first women’s national league, the AWIHL has amateur status and is sanctioned by Ice Hockey Australia (a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation). The AWIHL is currently contested by five teams from five Australian states, including teams Adelaide Rush, Brisbane Lightning, Perth Inferno, Melbourne Ice and Sydney Sirens. The league champion is awarded the Joan McKowen Memorial Trophy, and the competition is open to women over the age of 14. The AWIHL generally runs from October through to March with a short break over Christmas period.

The Australian Junior Ice Hockey League (AJIHL) is a league for men between the ages of 16 and 21.  In 2014/2015 season there were 6 teams from New South Wales, Victoria and Western Australia, playing in the league that runs from October to March each year.  The competition will be expanding for the 2015/2016 with the inclusion of teams from Queensland, South Australia and ACT.

The Australian Ice Hockey League (AIHL) is the flagship ice hockey league in Australia and the Southern Hemisphere. Please visit their official site for news, schedules, scores, standings, rosters, teams, video clips, and more.

First Nations flag ATSI flag Pride Flag

Our Commitment

Ice Hockey Australia respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands in which we are on. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

We are committed to a positive future for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and to honor their ongoing cultural and spiritual connections to this country and recognise the role and value of culture.

We are a proudly diverse organisation, who actively celebrates LGBTQIA+ diversity, inclusion, and pride.