Published Sun 11 Oct 2020

Ice Hockey Australia (IHA) has introduced a new numerical naming standard for its National Championships and development camps, replacing the out-dated terms – atom, peewee, bantam, midget.

The new terminology for the age-based competition will now be in the following format.

Age range IHA event/championship
9U 9 years as of Dec 31 or younger McCrae-Williamson group 1
11U 11 years as of Dec 31 or younger McCrae-Williamson group 2
13U 13 years as of Dec 31 or younger Ginsberg
15U 15 years as of Dec 31 or younger DeFris
18U 18 years as of Dec 31 or younger Tange

The previous terms, based from Hockey Canada, are non-descriptive and the same terms have been used to describe different competition age groups. For example, the ‘bantam’ competition in NSW is a 15 and under competition, while in South Australia it is a 16 and under competition. Member State associations are being encouraged to implement this change if they are not currently using it. This change will help clarify competitions and align all member states.

The change will also align IHA with USA hockey and Hockey Canada, who has recently announced a switch to a numerically based system for their 2020/21 season.

Ice Hockey Australia is committed to making the sport of ice hockey inclusive and accessible for all and are proud to action the change.  

First Nations flag ATSI flag Pride Flag

Our Commitment

Ice Hockey Australia respectfully acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the lands in which we are on. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

We are committed to a positive future for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and to honor their ongoing cultural and spiritual connections to this country and recognise the role and value of culture.

We are a proudly diverse organisation, who actively celebrates LGBTQIA+ diversity, inclusion, and pride.